BIZREFUND guide
Small claims limits by state, from court pages
Each state sets its own small claims limit. The table below gives the limit, court, filing fee and the rule on asking first for 12 states, each read from an official court or state source on the date shown.
Small claims rules are set state by state. This list covers 12 states so far: California, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Kentucky, Michigan, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Texas. Each state page carries seven facts with their official sources and the date they were checked. The list grows as states are checked.
The states checked so far
| State | Small claims limit | Court | Filing fee | Asking for the money first | Checked on | Official source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| California | USD 12,500 | Small claims court | USD 30 to USD 75 | Required | 2026-10-11 | California limit source |
| Florida | USD 8,000 | County court | USD 50 to USD 295 | Not stated on the official pages | 2026-10-11 | Florida limit source |
| Georgia | USD 15,000 (USD 25,000 for cases filed from 2027-01-01) | Magistrate Court | Set by the court or county | Recommended | 2026-10-11 | Georgia limit source |
| Illinois | USD 10,000 | Circuit Court, small claims | Set by the court or county | Recommended | 2026-10-11 | Illinois limit source |
| Kentucky | USD 2,500 | Small Claims Division of District Court | USD 38 to USD 38 | Recommended | 2026-10-11 | Kentucky limit source |
| Michigan | USD 7,000 | Small claims division of the district court | USD 30 to USD 70 | Not stated on the official pages | 2026-10-11 | Michigan limit source |
| New York | USD 10,000 | Small Claims Court | USD 10 to USD 20 | Not required | 2026-10-11 | New York limit source |
| North Carolina | USD 10,000 | Small claims court | USD 96 to USD 96 | Not stated on the official pages | 2026-10-11 | North Carolina limit source |
| Ohio | USD 6,000 | Small claims division of the municipal court or county court | Set by the court or county | Recommended | 2026-10-11 | Ohio limit source |
| Pennsylvania | USD 12,000 | Magisterial District Court | USD 68.50 to USD 171 | Recommended | 2026-10-11 | Pennsylvania limit source |
| Tennessee | USD 25,000 | General Sessions Court | Set by the court or county | Not stated on the official pages | 2026-10-11 | Tennessee limit source |
| Texas | USD 20,000 | Justice court | USD 54 to USD 54 | Recommended | 2026-10-11 | Texas limit source |
State pages
- Small claims in California
- Small claims in Florida
- Small claims in Georgia
- Small claims in Illinois
- Small claims in Kentucky
- Small claims in Michigan
- Small claims in New York
- Small claims in North Carolina
- Small claims in Ohio
- Small claims in Pennsylvania
- Small claims in Tennessee
- Small claims in Texas
How to read the table
The limit is the most you can claim in that state's small claims court. Where a business has a lower limit than a person, the state page says so.
The filing fee range runs across the amounts claimed; the exact fee is on the court's own page.
Asking first means the state's official guidance (the court, the attorney general or a state law library, named on each state page) expects or recommends a request for the money before a case is filed. The refund desk's letter is that request.
Checked on is the date the official pages were read. Limits and fees change; confirm on the court's page before you file.
States not listed yet
For any other state, no figures are given here yet, and none are guessed. Rung 4 of the refund desk still applies. The list grows as states are checked.
Not legal advice and not a law firm. This page says what the court and the rule are, not whether you should file.
Common questions
Where do the numbers come from?
Each number is read from the state court's own page, the statute on the legislature's site, or the attorney general's site, and each state page links to that source next to the fact.
What if my state is not listed?
Its figures have not been checked yet, so this page says nothing about it. The refund desk's rung 4 still applies. More states are added as they are checked.
Is this legal advice?
No. The pages say what the court and the rule are, not whether you should file.